KSP Banner KSP Banner

News Releases

KSP Post 2 Shop with a Trooper (S.W.A.T.)

Date of News Release: 12/05/2014

KSP Post 2 Shop with a Trooper Group Shot

Princeton, KY. - On Thursday, December 4, 2014, the Kentucky State Police Professional Association (KSPPA) District 2 conducted its 18th annual "Shop with a Trooper" (S.W.A.T.) program. This program is designed to assist children in need during the Christmas season.

Forty-five children, their families, KSP troopers, KSP CVE officers, and KSP families met at the Area 2 Fire & Rescue Training Center in Princeton. Pizza was provided to everyone courtesy of the Godfather's of Princeton. Drinks and paper products were donated by the Wal-Mart of Princeton. The Sonic Drive-In of Princeton treated everyone to ice cream.

After dinner, personnel from Post 2, and their families, assisted the children with their shopping at the Princeton Wal-Mart. The shopping lists consisted of several items including coats, pants, shirts, shoes, hats, gloves, and toys.

KSP Post 2 Shop with a Trooper eating KSP Post 2 Shop with a Trooper shopping photos
KSP Post 2 Shop with a Trooper shopping photos KSP Post 2 Shop with a Trooper shopping photos
KSP Post 2 Shop with a Trooper shopping photos

The Kentucky State Police would like to thank the following for making this year's program such a success: Charbon Contracting LLC, Godfather's of Princeton, Hudson Toyota Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Johnson's Sales & Service, Kelly's Towing (Alvin Oates), Sonic of Princeton, Wal-Mart of Princeton (Allen Dixon Store Manager), Tom Toler, Eddie and Denise Young, and others who wish to remain anonymous.

Post 2 personnel and their families participating in the event were: Captain J.W. Gibson, Lt. Jason Newby, Tina Newby, Jacob Newby, Sgt. Nick Rice, Megan Rice, Sgt. Tim Sales, Tpr. Ryan Fox, Det. Lonnie Kavanaugh, Retired Tpr. Chris King, Elizabeth King, Westin King, Daxtin King, Tfc. John Komar, Keeley Littlepage, Tpr. Jon McGehee, Kristin McGehee, Carter McGehee, Tfc. Jeff McWhorter, Calista Peterson, Tpr. Stu Recke, Carson Recke, Det. Scott Smith, Telecommunicator Shift Supervisor Chris King, Larra King, Christian King, Telecommunicator Chris Rogers and KSP CPA Alumnus Mae Cobb.