KSP Banner KSP Banner

News Releases

KSP Post 1, 2015 July 4th Holiday Enforcement

Date of News Release: 07/03/2015

(Hickory, Ky.) - The Kentucky State Police Post 1-Mayfield wants to remind motorists to celebrate this Fourth of July responsibly.

The Kentucky State Police will be stepping up patrols to ensure the safety of the motoring public. Troopers and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Officers will be patrolling all roads and saturating known problematic areas in each of the eleven counties of the Post 1 District.

The motoring public should expect to see more troopers and officers on the roads as well as encountering various roadway safety checkpoints. An enhanced amount of safety road checks will be conducted this week and throughout the weekend.

KSP utilizes traffic safety checkpoints to promote safety for motorists and to provide a deterrent for those who violate laws contained in the Kentucky Revised Statutes.

The intent of a traffic safety checkpoint is to provide for a high visibility, public safety service, focusing on vehicular equipment deficiencies, confirming appropriate registration/insurance of vehicles and the valid licensing of drivers. Other violations of law and/or other public safety issues that arise will be addressed.

These checkpoints will allow the Kentucky State Police the opportunity to periodically concentrate its efforts in checking for violations of Kentucky traffic and regulatory laws that will ultimately increase the safety of the citizens within the Commonwealth.

For a list of Post 1 traffic safety checkpoint locations, visit: www.kentuckystatepolice.org/press/post1_checkpoints.html (Note: Locations may change from time-to-time so periodically check our public website at www.kentuckystatepolice.org/press/post1_checkpoints.html for a more up-to-date listing).

Citizens may also assist law enforcement by calling toll-free, (in Kentucky), 1-800-222-5555 to report any type of unsafe driving behaviors. Callers should provide the direction of travel, a description of the vehicle, and the license plate number if possible.

The Post 1 district serves the following counties: Ballard, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, and Trigg.