KSP Banner KSP Banner

News Releases

The Kentucky State Police-Post 5 celebrates National Public Safety Telecommunications Week April 12-18

Date of News Release: 04/09/2015

(Campbellsburg, KY) - National Public Safety Telecommunications Week was established by the United States Congress in 1991 to recognize the dedicated professionals who link the public to emergency services.

The Kentucky State Police-Post 5 is taking this opportunity to create public awareness of the important services delivered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year by our emergency communications personnel. In 2014, Post 5 dispatched 41,058 calls for service to the public in Carroll, Gallatin, Henry, Oldham, Owen, and Trimble counties. The Post 5 telecommunicators are an integral part of the public safety team of police, fire, rescue and EMS. The 14 men and women that make up the communications center are responsible for receiving, dispatching and monitoring calls from Henry, Trimble and Owen Counties.

Each day, thousands of citizens in our post area rely on the expertise and dedication of our 9-1-1 dispatchers. Our dispatchers help save countless lives by answering and quickly responding to emergency calls and dispatching emergency responders and providing support to our citizens. Their skill in high-pressure, high-stress situations allows rapid emergency response and aide and compassion in times of great distress.

Although our dispatchers are not the ones driving police cars, ambulances or fire trucks to your house or business, they play an equally important role in responding to emergencies. Often this can be a thankless job, but they all take great pride in the professional job they do.

The communications team at KSP-Post 5 are as follows: Kevin Woosley, LaGrange; Kenneth Murphy, Shelbyville; Melinda Portman, Campbellsburg; Shelly Clark, Sulphur; Aimee Lashley, Port Royal; Twalla Long, Bedford; Jerri Scott, New Castle; Rebecca Mills, Owenton; Dennis Tegethoff, LaGrange; Jessica Beverly, Owenton; Jonathan Chisholm, Eminence; Tyler Bush, Owenton; Amanda Aylor, Campbellsburg and Whitney Lyell, LaGrange.

When you see these people out in your community, please thank them for all they do to help protect you, your family and your community.