KSP Banner KSP Banner

News Releases

KSP Post 4 Activity for December

Date of News Release: 01/11/2016

(ELIZABETHTOWN, KY.) - The Kentucky State Police Post 04 in Elizabethtown covers 8 counties. They include: Hardin, Jefferson, Bullitt, Nelson, Meade, Breckenridge, Larue, and Grayson. The West Region covers 8 post areas. They are: Post 1, Post 2, Post 3, Post 4, Post 5, Post 12, Post 15, and Post 16.

We will continue to conduct traffic safety checkpoints through January and the rest of 2016 looking for impaired drivers, unrestrained motorists, and other traffic violations at various locations throughout our post area.

For the month of December 2015, Post 04 Troopers and Detectives wrote a total of 1172 citations. We removed 24 drunk drivers from Kentucky roadways and cited 260 speeders. 74 violators were charged with failure to wear a seatbelt and 4 citations were for failure to use a child restraint. We investigated 84 crashes and conducted 1474 vehicle inspections. 468 motorists were given a courtesy notice in lieu of a traffic citation for minor traffic offenses. We assisted 124 motorists stranded on Kentucky roadways and answered over 958 citizen’s complaints. We were involved in 814 special details and conducted over 22 community programs which reached over 1500 citizens of the Commonwealth. Our Detectives and Troopers opened over 38 criminal cases, made 196 criminal arrests, and served over 133 criminal court documents. In addition, we contacted over 332 victims of crimes on cases that we investigated. Additionally, we conducted over 80 school and business security checks throughout the entire Post 4 area. In total, Post 04 Troopers, Detectives, and Command Staff logged over 5926 hours of service for the Kentucky citizens we served.

In addition to the Trooper and Detective monthly activity, Post 4 dispatchers logged over 2100 data entries while still answering hundreds of calls from citizens in our area.

KSP Post 4 will be operating Road Safety Checkpoints as well as Speed Checkpoints throughout the 8 county Post 4 coverage area for the month of January and throughout 2016.

Citizens can contribute to highway safety by reporting erratic drivers to the Kentucky State Police toll-free at 1-800-222-5555. Callers will remain anonymous and should give a description of the vehicle, location, direction of travel and license number if possible.